Details of construction completed or under way in British Columbia during 1960 are outlined at pp. 581-582.

Item	1956	1957	1958	1959	1960
Customers No.	61,345	69,574	75,280	79,861	84,304
Installed plant capacity kw.	211,366	284,435	324,735	385,771	454,191
Circuit Miles of Line Transmission (high voltage)miles Distribution primaries	795 3,781	1,009 4,147	1,330 4,650	1,415 4,949	1,578 5,227
Power Requirements— Generatedkwh. Purchased	955,007,458 24,022,708	1,058,915,734 25,668,700	984,810,523 228,760,010	1,597,961,498 46,124,718	1,707,027,382 51,418,578
Totals, Power Bequirements, kwh.	979,031,166	1,084,584,434	1,213,570,533	1,644,086,216	1,758,445,960
Annual revenue\$'000	9,731	11,992	14,524	17,131	19,078
Capital Investment (plant in operation)— Generation plant\$ Transmission plant\$ Distribution and general plants.	44,741,367 15,289,408 21,791,399	55,595,528 20,639,658 25,783,408	82,844,306 24,678,764 30,031,507	115,743,698 28,487,058 32,724,097	141,075,465 32,202,571 36,017,392
Totals, Capital Investment (plant in operation) \$	81,822,174	102,018,604	137,554,577	176,954,853	209,295,428

22.—Growth of the British Columbia Power Commission, Years Ended Mar. 31, 1956-60

Sources of power for the year ended Mar. 31, 1960 were as follows:-

Source	Power	Percentage of Total
	kwh.	
Hydro-electric plant	1,524,109,250	86.6
Diesel-electric plant— Oil fuel. Gas fuel.	50,109,918 131,296,214	2.8 7.5
Gas-turbine plant	1,512,000	0.1
Purchased	51,418,578	3.0
TOTALS	1,758,445,960	100.0

Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory.—The Northern Canada Power Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was created by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. By legislation passed in 1950, the Act was extended to include Yukon Territory. The Commission has authority to construct and operate power plants as required in the Territories and, subject to approval of the Governor in Council, in any other parts of Canada.

The Commission has hydro-electric power developments on the Yukon River near Whitehorse, Y.T., the Mayo River near Mayo Landing, Y.T., and the Snare River northwest of Yellowknife, N.W.T. Diesel-electric plants are operated at Fort Simpson, Fort Smith, Fort Resolution, Frobisher Bay and Inuvik, N.W.T., and at Field, B.C.